Five of the scholars will receive an $18,000 scholarship over the next four years. Two additional awards carry a $22,000 opportunity.

These latter scholarships honor the past Scholar Committee chairmen, John Zimmerman and the late Mike Malanick.

Seated, from left, are Abigail Cohen, Hilton Head Preparatory; Rachel Wilbourne, Hilton Head Island High, Zimmerman Award winner; Carolanne O’Fee, Hilton Head, Malanick Award winner; and Rachel Friend, Hilton Head. Back row, from left are Shivin Shetty, Battery Creek High; Jackson Williams, Beaufort High; and Andrew Jezewski, Beaufort High.