Hopeful Horizons held its “V-Oscars” via Zoom on Dec. 10 to honor the organization’s volunteers and outstanding service.

“Volunteers are critical to Hopeful Horizons,” said Kristin Dubrowski, Hopeful Horizons’ CEO. “I wish to congratulate all of the award winners and thank each and every volunteer for their service.”

The 2020 Awards were presented to:

• Marilyn Mueller, outstanding service to the Charles Street office

• Lary Jones of Bluffton, outstanding service to the Bluffton and Okatie offices

• Carol McGarth, outstanding service to the emergency domestic violence shelter

• Jennifer Palmer of Hilton Head Island, outstanding service as a hospital advocate

• Beth Young of Beaufort, Race4Love Chairwoman, outstanding service with fundraising

• Helen Tallone, outstanding service with the Strengthening Families Program

• Gail Temple, outstanding service in community education

The Volunteer of The Year Award was given to Dr. Mary Helen Niemeyer for her generous gift of her time, talent and dedication.

A special award, the Hopeful Horizons Award, was given to rape crisis volunteer Cinda Seamon of Hilton Head, for her 30-plus years of services to Hopeful Horizons.

Volunteers support a number of critical functions for Hopeful Horizons, including providing a welcoming environment for children who have been abused, providing support during hospital exams to victims of sexual assault and domestic violence, and assisting with the day-to-day activities of the domestic violence shelter and other office locations.

For more information, visit hopefulhorizons.org