The 2022-2023 Heritage Scholars pose with members of the Heritage Classic Foundation, which provides funding for the annual scholarships. COURTESY HERITAGE CLASSIC FOUNDATION

Eleven outstanding Beaufort County seniors have been named Heritage Classic Foundation scholars for the 2022-2023 school year. The students come from seven different high schools and one is home schooled.

Seniors in all Beaufort and Jasper County high schools were eligible to apply and applications were reviewed on the basis of academic success, community service, essays written by the student and financial need. Thirteen finalists were interviewed by the Scholar Committee; the two not selected were awarded a one-time $2,500 grant.

During the March 10 awards presentation, held at the Harbour Town Clubhouse, Heritage Classic Foundation Scholar Committee Chairman, Scott Richardson told the audience, “This is always an exciting day for the Heritage Classic Foundation. We believe the resumes of these young adults are better than ever.  The teachers and administrators of our school systems, as well as the award winners, deserve special praise.” 

Six of the newly named Scholars will receive a $16,000 scholarship over the next four years. Four additional awards carry a $20,000 opportunity. 

Two of the latter scholarships honor Scholar Committee chairmen who have passed, John Zimmerman and Mike Malanick. One honors the late Scholar Committee member Charlie Brown, and the Tartan Club Award recognizes the donations made by the Tartan Club.

The Kirby Scholarship, a one-year $4,000 scholar award, was created in memoriam of past Scholar Committee chairman Ward Kirby and will be granted every year moving forward. Two additional students will receive a one-year $2,500 award.

Next fall, a total of 41 Beaufort County collegians will be attending school and will have received Foundation grants at an expenditure of $200,000.  

A grand total of $5 million will have been awarded to 375 students after the 2023 distribution.

In addition to these 11 scholarships, the Foundation is funding four $2,500 annual scholarships to the University of South Carolina Beaufort and two $1,500 annual scholarships to the Technical College of the Lowcountry. 

The following graduating seniors were selected:

Ella Gordon, Battery Creek                                                                              

Benjamin Steen, Beaufort Academy

Megan Alvarez and Susan “Elizabeth” Livesay, Beaufort High School

Kellen Kubec, Heritage Academy                                                              

Cynthia Gudaitis, Benjamin Lewis and Laurel Hawkins, Hilton Head Island High School

Emma “Hayes” Wilkinson, Hilton Head Preparatory School

Samantha Reilly, John Paul II Catholic School

Levi Bates, Homeschooled

For more information, call 843-671-2448, visit, or find us on Facebook (Heritage Classic Foundation) and Twitter (@HCFGolf).