Nine of the 10 newly named Heritage Classic Foundation Scholars from Beaufort and Jasper counties pose with members of the Heritage Classic Foundation Scholar Committee Jan. 28. COURTESY HERITAGE CLASSIC FOUNDATION

Ten outstanding Beaufort and Jasper County seniors were named Heritage Classic Foundation Scholars at a luncheon Jan. 28 at the Sonesta Resort. The students come from six different high schools and one is homeschooled.

During the awards presentation, Heritage Classic Foundation Scholar Committee chairman Scott Richardson told the audience, “This is always an exciting day for the Heritage Classic Foundation. Choosing the 10 students to receive these awards was a hard task. We believe the records of these young adults are better than ever. The teachers and administrators of our school systems, as well as the award winners, deserve special praise.”

Six of the newly named Scholars will receive a $16,000 scholarship over the next four years, including the newly named Scholar Alumni Award. Four additional awards carry a $20,000 opportunity. Two of the latter scholarships honor past Scholar Committee chairmen John Zimmerman and the late Mike Malanick. One honors the late Scholar Committee member Charlie Brown, and the Tartan Club Award recognizes the donations made by the Tartan Club. Created by the Heritage Classic Foundation, the Tartan Club is a group of individuals who share a desire to help others through the creation of scholarships for area students.

Next fall, 37 Beaufort County collegians will be receiving Foundation grants at an expenditure of $165,000. A grand total of $4,452,350 will have been awarded to 342 students after the 2020 distribution.

Richardson pointed out at the luncheon, sponsored by Palmetto Electric Cooperative, “These scholars are not just straight A students. They are leaders in their schools, communities and churches. They have interests that vary from music to sports to protecting the environment.”

In addition to these 10 scholarships, the Foundation is funding four $2,500 annual scholarships to the University of South Carolina Beaufort and two $1,500 annual scholarships to the Technical College of the Lowcountry.

The following graduating seniors were selected:

Beaufort Academy: Albert (Cal) Harvey (Scholar Alumni Award winner, $16,000)

Beaufort High School: Rhea Desai, Brigid Murphy (Malanick Award winner, $20,000)

Bluffton High School: Ethan Helms, Elena Senouillet (Zimmerman Award winner, $20,000)

Hilton Head Christian Academy: Daniel Harrington, Joseph Reindl

Hilton Head Preparatory School: Felipe Mendoza

Holy Trinity Classical Christian School: Caroline O’Neal (Tartan Club Award winner, $20,000)

Homeschooled: Brodie Brant (Brown Award winner, $20,000)