Polls will be open Nov. 6 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. for the upcoming general election, which includes local races.

In the interest of familiarizing our readers with the names of candidates and questions on the ballot for these elections, the following information is provided as a service.

The list of candidates and the three questions on the local ballots were provided by the League of Women Voters of Hilton Head Island-Bluffton area. This is identical to the information on their election website, Vote411.org.

All candidates are listed in alphabetical order. Incumbents (if any) are not marked. In a race that a candidate is running unopposed, only that name will appear.

For more information about the candidates and their answers to questions posted by the League, visit Vote411.org. The site also allows users to print out a sample ballot, and to choose candidates and create a personal ballot summary.

Additional information about the election, explanations about the questions, and a sample ballot, visit SCvotes.org, a portal of the South Carolina Election Commission.

For information specific to Beaufort County voters, precincts and polling places, call the Board of Voter Registration and Elections of Beaufort County at 843-255-6900 or 843-255-6940 or visit bcgov.net and look under the “Departments” tab.

Please note a change in the polling place for voters in Hilton Head voting precincts 1A and 1B to a temporary location at Hilton Head Presbyterian Church, 235 William Hilton Parkway.

Statewide Races

South Carolina Governor and Lt. Governor:

Henry McMaster and Pamela Evette (Rep)

James Smith Jr. and Mandy Powers Norrell (Dem)

South Carolina U.S. Congressional District 1:

Katie Arrington (Rep)

Joe Cunningham (Dem)

South Carolina Secretary of State:

Mark Hammond (Rep)

Melvin T. Whittenburg (Dem)

South Carolina State Treasurer:

Rosalyn L. Glenn (Dem)

Curtis Loftis Jr. (Rep)

Sarah Work (Amn)

South Carolina Attorney General:

Constance Anastopoulo (Dem)

Alan Wilson (Rep)

South Carolina Comptroller General:

Richard Eckstrom (Rep)

South Carolina State Superintendent of Education:

Israel Romero (Dem)

Molly Mitchell Spearman (Rep)

South Carolina Commissioner of Agriculture:

David Edmond (Grn)

Chris Nelums (UCZ)

Hugh Weathers (Rep)

Hilton Head Island Races


Barry W. Ginn

Kim Likins

Michael Santomauro

John McCann

Alan R. Perry

Rochelle Williams

Town Council Ward 2:

William (Bill) Harkins

Tim Ridge

Town Council Ward 4:

Tamara Becker

Town Council Ward 5:

Richard Dextraze

Patsy Brison

Tom Lennox

SC House of Representatives

District 120

Ryan Martz (Dem)

Weston Newton (Rep)

District 123:

Jeff Bradley (Rep)

Mario Martinez (Dem)

County Auditor:

Jim Beckert (Rep)

County Council Races:

District 6

Joseph Passiment (Rep)

District 8

Brenda Brandt (Dem)

Chris Hervochon (Rep)

District 9

Mark Lawson (Rep)

Mark McGinnis (Dem)

District 10

Cathy McClellan (Dem)

Lawrence McElynn (Rep)

District 11

Stu Rodman (Rep)


Maria Walls (Rep)

County Probate Judge:

Kenneth Fulp (Rep)

Vernell Scott (Dem)

School Board Races

District 7:

Rachel Wisnefski

Evva Anderson

Chris Davey

District 8:

John Eddy

Cathy Robine

Paul M. Roth

District 10:

Melvin P. Campbell

Peter Kristian

Amendments and Local Questions

The following Constitutional Amendment will appear on ballots statewide in the Nov. 6 General Election:

Amendment 1

Must Section 7, Article VI of the Constitution of this State, relating to state constitutional officers, be amended so as to provide that beginning in January 2023, or upon a vacancy in the office of Superintendent of Education after the date of the ratification of the provisions of this paragraph, whichever occurs first, the Superintendent of Education must be appointed by the Governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate; to provide that the appointed Superintendent of Education shall serve at the pleasure of the Governor; and to require the General Assembly to provide by law for the duties, compensation, and qualifications for the office?


A “Yes” vote will require the Superintendent of Education be appointed by the Governor with the consent of the Senate.

A “No” vote maintains the current method of electing a Superintendent of Education.

Local Question 1A

I approve a special transportation sales and use tax in the amount of one percent (1%) to be imposed in Beaufort County for not more than Four (4) years, or until a total of $120,000,000 in resulting revenue has been collected, whichever comes first. The sales tax proceeds will be used for the following projects as described and for which an estimated capital cost is stated. Hilton Head Island – US 278 Corridor Traffic Improvements: Repair and/or replace the existing spans of the bridges to Hilton Head Island and other improvements between Moss Creek Drive and Squire Pope Road $80,000,000; Lady’s Island Corridor Traffic Improvements: Roadway traffic improvements between the Woods Memorial Bridge and the Chowan Creek Bridge as outlined in the Lady’s Island Corridor Study dated May 19, 2017, $30,000,000; Sidewalks and Multi-Use Pathways – Safe Routes to Schools: Installation and repair of sidewalks and multi-use pathways at multiple locations within Beaufort County so as to provide safe walking routes to schools and improved access to residential communities: (1) Burnt Church Road, Ulmer Road, and Shad Road, (2) Laurel Bay Road Pathway Widening, (3) Bluffton Parkway Phase 1, (4) Joe Frazier Road, (5) Meridian Road, (6) Alljoy Road, (7) Salem Road, Old Salem Road, and Burton Hill Road, (8) Middle Road, (9) Stuart Point, (10) Broad River Boulevard and Riley Road, (11) Broad River Drive, (12) Lake Point Drive and Old Miller Road Pathway Connection, (13) Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive, (14) Ribaut Road to Parris Island Gateway, (15) Pine Grove Road and Burton Wells Road, (16) Spanish Moss Trail Extension, (17) Seabrook Road, (18) Depot Road, (19) Chowan Creek Bluff, (20) U.S. 17 Pathway Extension, (21) Bruce K. Smalls, (22) Paige Point, (23) Big Road, and (24) Big Estate Road $10,000,000. Total: $120,000,000

“Yes” for the measure or “No” against the measure

Local Question 2

Shall Beaufort County, South Carolina, issue general obligation bonds, not to exceed $25 million, for the purpose of land preservation, by purchasing open land in Beaufort County in order to protect water quality, protect local waterways such as the Port Royal Sound, and local creeks and rivers such as the Okatie, Broad and May Rivers, wildlife areas, wetlands, natural lands, farmland, coastal areas, shellfish beds, and nursery areas for recreational and commercial fisheries, and beaches, and provide buffers for the Marine Corps Air Station Beaufort. All expenditures shall be subject to an annual independent audit and an amount not to exceed twenty percent (20%) of the funds created by this referendum may be used to improve existing and newly acquired open space and natural areas protected under this program.

“Yes” for the measure or “No” against the measure